<Rant>

One of the things I dislike in the Java world is the number of moving parts I sometimes have to deal with in order to get things going. For instance, as mentioned in my previous post, I often work with XML schemas. To successfully use JAXB, you have to be aware of:

  1. The Java version you’re using (Java SE 6, or 5?)
  2. The version of JAXB (is it 2.0 or 2.1?)
  3. The version of NetBeans (try 7.0 it rocks!)
  4. The OS you’re running all the above on

Depending on the various combination you have, you may need to tune things differently…

For instance the build.xml file contains information that relates to XJC’s location. Up to recently, I was successfully using the following setting on my OS X based machines:

<taskdef name=”xjc” classname=”com.sun.tools.xjc.XJCTask”>

   <classpath>
       <fileset dir=”/Applications/NetBeans/NetBeans 6.5M1.app/Contents/Resources/NetBeans/java2/modules/ext/jaxws21″ includes=”**/*.jar”/>
   </classpath>
</taskdef>

Recently I upgraded to NetBeans 7.0 (which is great btw) and updated accordingly the build.xml for my project so that it matches the new location of jaxws21:

/Applications/NetBeans/NetBeans 7.0M1.app/Contents/Resources/NetBeans/java2/modules/ext/jaxws21

 Unfortunately, I got the following error message when building my project:

taskdef class com.sun.tools.xjc.XJCTask cannot be found

 

It turns out the proper directory is now:

/Applications/NetBeans/NetBeans 7.0M1.app/Contents/Resources/NetBeans/ide10/modules/ext/jaxb

Why the move to another location? Frankly I’m not sure but I bet it has to do with this. This site (named the unofficial JAXB guide) is a great source of information if you’re working with JAXB.

</Rant>

